Navigate Up
Sign In

The Joseph R. Accinno Teaching Award 

The Joseph R. Accinno Faculty Teaching Award is presented annually to the faculty member who best exhibits excellence in teaching, passion and enthusiasm for learning, and genuine concern for students' academic and personal growth. The award program is administered by the Center for Teaching Excellence and the Teaching Award Selection Committee (TASC). The recipient receives a cash stipend, is formally acknowledged at the College's Academic Convocation in September, and has his or her name inscribed on a plaque that is permanently displayed in Phillips Memorial Library. 


The 2013-14 Joseph R. Accinno Teaching Award Recipient will be announced soon!

Past Teaching Award Recipients


Chard deNiord

Click on recipients' names to read their reflective thoughts on teaching.


Dr. Susan Skawinski​

Dr. Mark Hyde
Dr. Mark Hyde


Dr. Nuria Alonso Garcia
Dr. Nuria Alonso Garcia

Dr. Charles Toth
Dr. Charles Toth

 Dr. Robert Hackey
Dr. Robert Hackey

Dr. Margaret Manchester

Dr. Marian Mattison

Dr. Vance Morgan

Dr. Stephen Lynch

Dr. Joseph Cammarano



​Teaching Award Selection Committee 2013-2014

Nuria Alonso García, Chair, Foreign Language Studies
Charles TothBiology, Faculty Senate Appointee
Denise Godin, Undergraduate and Graduate Studies Dean's Office
Laurie Grupp, Elementary/Special Education, Center for Teaching Excellence (ex officio)
Chard deNiord, English
Susan Skawinski, Elementary/Special Education

Student Member(s)​:

Charles Rainville, '16
Leslie Raygoza, '16

Catholic and Dominican

What does it mean to be a Catholic and Dominican college? We invite you to explore this question and the distinctive mission of Providence College.
About Providence College's Catholic and Dominican Identity