Navigate Up
Sign In

Web Services
Martin Hall, Room 214

Dan Demmons
Director of Web Architecture, Design & Services

Josh Lopes
Web Applications Developer

Matt Bevilacqua
Web Applications Developer


Commonly Used Web Acronyms

Markup and Styling

  1. CSS: Cascading Style Sheets — CSS is a stylesheet language used to define how a web page written HTML or XHTML should be presented and displayed in a web browser.

  2. HTML: HyperText Markup Language — HTML is a tag-based markup language used to create web pages. Every site on the internet uses HTML in some form


  1. SQL: Structured Query Language — SQL is a special programming language used to retrieve data from and modify relational database systems.


  1. FTP: File Transfer Protocol — FTP is a commonly used protocol for transferring files from one computer to another over a network.

  2. HTTP: HyperText Transfer Protocol — HTTP is a communications protocol used for transferring data available on the Web.

  3. HTTPS: Secure HypterText Transfer Protocol — HTTPS is a variation of HTTP used to specify that the data being transferred is/should be encrypted and secure.

  4. SSH: Secure Shell — SSH is a network protocol that allows data to be exchanged over a secure channel between two computers.

  5. SSL: Secure Sockets Layer — SSL is a cryptographic protocol used for encrypting sensitive data while being sent through the Internet.

Standards and Accessibility

  1. 508: Section 508 — Section 508 is an amendment to the Rehabilitation act of 1973 that requires federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities. It is commonly used as a standard for accessible web sites.

  2. W3C: World Wide Web Consortium — The W3C is the international standards organization for the Web.

  3. WAI: Web Accessibility Initiative — The WAI is an initiative enacted by the W3C for improving the accessibility of web pages for people using software other than web browsers (e.g. screen readers).

  4. WCAG: Web Content Accessibility Guidelines — WCAG is a series of web accessibility guidelines published by the WAI.

Graphics and Images

  1. CMYK: Cyan Magenta Yellow Key — RGB is a subtractive color model used by computers to display various colors by subtracting different levels of cyan, magenta, and yellow.

  2. FLA: Flash Authoring File — FLA files are the primary authoring output files of Adobe Flash

  3. GIF: Graphics Interchange Format — GIF is a popular graphics format most commonly used for graphics in web sites.

  4. JPEG: Joint Photographic Experts Group — JPEG is an image compression codec commonly used to encode pictures for the Web.

  5. PNG: Portable Network Graphics — PNG is an image format that was developed to replace the aging GIF image format for web sites.

  6. PSD: PhotoShop Document — PSD files are the primary authoring output files of Adobe Photoshop.

  7. RGB: Red Green Blue — RGB is an additive color model used by computers to display various colors by combining different levels of red, green, or blue.

  8. SVG: Scalable Vector Graphics — SVG is an XML markup language used to describe two dimensional vector graphics.

  9. SWF: Small Web Format/ShockWave Flash — SWF is a proprietary vector graphics format used to create animations on web sites.

Search Engine Optimization

  1. CPC: Cost Per Click — CPC is the amount an advertiser pays every time a user clicks on one of their advertisements in a PPC campaign.

  2. CPM: Cost Per 1000 Impressions — CPM is the amount an advertiser pays for every 1000 (or, roman numeral “M”) users who view their advertisement on a web page.

  3. CTR: Click Through Rate/Ratio — CTR is a measure of the amount of users who click an advertisement as compared to the number of users who see the advertisement.

  4. PPC: Pay Per Click — PPC is an advertising model used on the Web in which advertisers only pay when a user actually click their advertisement.

  5. PR: PageRank — PageRank is an algorithm used to measure the value of a particular document relative to other documents in the same set. Commonly used by search engines to rank web site popularity.

  6. SEO: Search Engine Optimization — SEO is the process of tweaking web sites so that they are more likely to be indexed higher in search engine results.

  7. SERP: Search Engine Results Page — SERP is the listing of web pages returned by a search engine in response to a user search


  1. IP: Internet Protocol — IP is a protocol for transferring data across a packet-switched network.

  2. SLD: Second-Level Domain — SLD is a domain directly below the TLD. For example. In “”, “solosignal” is the SLD and “.com” is the TLD.

  3. TLD: Top-Level Domain — TLD is the last part of any Internet domain name. For example: .com, .net, and .org are all TLDs.

  4. URL: Uniform Resource Locator — URLs are the addresses used to request files through the Web.

  5. WWW: World Wide Web — The WWW is the network of interlinked hypertext documents available through the Internet.

Catholic and Dominican

What does it mean to be a Catholic and Dominican college? We invite you to explore this question and the distinctive mission of Providence College.
About Providence College's Catholic and Dominican Identity