Navigate Up
Sign In

​Concert~Event Schedule  2015-2016

All Concerts are held in the Ryan Concert Hall ~ Smith Center for the Arts unless *noted

Tuesday, September 22 ~ 7:30 pm
Faculty Jazz Concert  * Bowab Theatre

Saturday, October 17 ~ Sunday, October 18
Keyboard Festival

Saturday, October 31, ~ 2:00 pm
Collaboration of Music and Dance (Freshmen Family Weekend)​

Saturday, October 31 ~ 4:00 pm
Community Music Works performing works by Vivaldi and Piazzola


Friday, November 6 ~ 7:00 pm
Paul Bowles, A Musical Portrait - Lecture Recital,~ Gabriel Alfieri, baratone
 

Tuesday, November 11, 
Open House for prospective Music and Music Education Majors
(Auditions by appointment only)

 

Friday, November 13 ~ 4:00 pm
Fridays at Four - Student Performance


Saturday, November 14 ~ 2:00 pm
Jazz Concert

Saturday, November 21 ~ 4:00 pm
Fall Choral Concert  ~ "THEY'RE ALIVE! - Music of Living Composers"

This concert will spotlight music of living composers, including Arvo Pärt, Alice Parker, and several composers who will be in attendance at the performance: Kenneth Fuchs, Peter Bagley, Gregory W. Brown, and PC's very own Michael Kregler! Choral favorites will also be featured, including Josquin, Morley, and Haydn's Missa brevis Sancti Joannis de Deo. Spirituals, hymns, motets, and a mass setting, spanning the 16th century through the 21st. You can hear it all, and meet the composers: 


Sunday, November 22 ~ 2:00 pm
Symphonic Winds and Orchestra Concert

Friday, December 4 ~ 4:00 pm
Fridays at Four - Student Performance

Saturday, December 5,
Lessons and Carols at St. Dominic Chapel


Friday, December 11 ~ 7:00 pm
Opera Workshop Performance


Saturday, January 23 
Perspective Student Auditions - pre-register 401-865-2183 or cbarry@providence.edu
Faculty/Student Recital ~ 2:00 pm


Friday, April 8 ~ 4:00 pm
Fridays at Four ~ Student Performance

Friday, April 15~ 4:00 pm
Fridays at Four ~ Student Performance

Sunday, April 17, ~ 2:00 pm
Symphonic Winds Concert

Friday, April 22 ~ 4:00 pm
Fridays at Four ~ Student Performance


Saturday, April 23 ~ 4:00 pm
Spring Choral Masterworks Concert
TRACTION: Songs of Progress and Growth
Location TBD

Sunday, April 24 ~ 2:00 pm
Woodwind Quintet Performance

 

 

Catholic and Dominican

What does it mean to be a Catholic and Dominican college? We invite you to explore this question and the distinctive mission of Providence College.
About Providence College's Catholic and Dominican Identity