Navigate Up
Sign In

Faculty

Professors

Mario R. DiNunzio, Ph.D., Emeritus | Clark (1964) | 19th & 20th Century U.S. 
Ext. 2103 | dinunzio@providence.edu

Richard J. Grace, Ph.D. | Fordham (1974) | British & British Imperial History
Ext. 2074 | rjgrace@providence.edu

Paul D. Quinlan, Ph.D. | Boston College (1974) | Eastern Europe, the Balkans, Russia 
Ext. 2729 | pquinlan@providence.edu

Constance M. Rousseau, Ph.D. | Toronto (1992) | Medieval, Renaissance, Reformation 
Ext. 2713 | rousseau@providence.edu

Raymond L. Sickinger, Ph.D. | Notre Dame (1978) | Germany & Modern France
Ext. 2190 | rsicking@providence.edu 

Associate Professors

Fred K. Drogula, Ph.D. | Virginia (2005) | Greece & Rome 
Ext. 1891 | fdrogula@providence.edu

Jeffrey A. Johnson, Ph.D. | Washington State (2004) | U.S. Labor, Progressive Era, West 
Ext. 1784 | j.johnson@providence.edu

James H. McGovern, Ph.D. | Boston College (1975) | U.S., Military, Vietnam 
Ext. 2151 | jmcgov@providence.edu 

Sharon Ann Murphy, Ph.D. | Virginia (2005) | 19th Century U.S., Social, Economic & Business 
Ext. 2380 | smurph13@providence.edu 

Rev. John C. Vidmar, O.P., S.T.D. | St. Thomas (1991) | Church History 
Ext. 1936 | jvidmar@providence.edu

Assistant Professors

Edward E. Andrews, Ph.D. | New Hampshire (2009) | Colonial America, American Indian 
Ext. 1594 | eandrews@providence.edu 

Patrick H. Breen, Ph.D. | Georgia (2005) | U.S. South, Slavery 
Ext. 1715 | pbreen@providence.edu 

Matthew J. Dowling, Ph.D. | Yale (1995) | Modern France, Europe, Africa
Ext. 1966 | mdowling@providence.edu 

Vefa Erginbas, Ph.D. | Ohio State (2013) | Pre-Modern Middle East 
Ext. 1660 | erginbas@providence.edu 

Robin J. Greene, Ph.D. | Washington (2011) | Greece & Rome, Greco-Roman Egypt
Ext. 2993 | rgreene2@providence.edu

Thomas W. Grzebien III, Ph.D. | Notre Dame (1990) | Medieval France
Ext. 2012 | grzebien@providence.edu

Karen A. Holland, Ph.D. | Providence (1996) | Ireland, Early Modern Europe
Ext. 1279 | kholland@providence.edu

Jennifer Illuzzi, Ph.D. | Minnesota (2008) | Modern Germany & Italy 
Ext. 1945 | jilluzz1@providence.edu

D. Colin Jaundrill, Ph.D. | Columbia (2009) | Japan (Early Modern & Modern) 
Ext. 1786 | djaundri@providence.edu

John M. Lawless, Ph.D. | Brown (1991) | Greece & Rome 
Ext. 2548 | jlawless@providence.edu

Margaret M. Manchester, Ph.D., Chairperson | Clark (1994) | American & Diplomatic History 
Ext. 2846 | mmanch@providence.edu 

Donna T. McCaffrey, Ph.D. | Providence (1983) | Medieval Europe
Ext. 2161 | dtmccaff@providence.edu 

Darra D. Mulderry, Ph.D., Assistant Chair | Brandeis (2006) | Intellectual History, U.S. 
Ext. 1745 | mulderry@providence.edu 

Paul F. O'Malley, Ph.D. | Boston (1980) | Modern Ireland 
Ext. 2192 | pomalley@providence.edu

Rev. David Orique, O.P., Ph.D. | Oregon (2011) | Latin America 
Ext. 2647 | dorique@providence.edu 

Steven Carl Smith, Ph.D. | Missouri (2013) | Revolutionary America, Federalist Era 
Ext. 2726 | ssmith32@providence.edu

Adrian Weimer, Ph.D.‚Äč | Harvard (2008) | Colonial America 
Ext. 2698 | aweimer@providence.edu


Catholic and Dominican

What does it mean to be a Catholic and Dominican college? We invite you to explore this question and the distinctive mission of Providence College.
About Providence College's Catholic and Dominican Identity