Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linksawards



​​​​​​​​​​Highest in Concentration

  • 2016: French: Abigale Denham |​ Spanish: Grace Twardy​
  • 2015: French: Meaghan Landry | Italian: Raymond Oliverio |​ Spanish: Vincent Whalen
  • 2014: French: Megan Moran | Italian: Justin Kanka | Spanish: Michelle Nogas
  • 2013:  French: Rebecca Nagel | Spanish: Erica Barnum - Ethan Gentes

German Language Awards

  • 2015: Raymond Oliverio
  • 2014: Michael McConnell - Erik Pottinger
  • 2013: Naomi Eide

Fr. St. George Award (French)

The Reverend Raymond St. George, O.P. Award is granted by the Class of 1950 in memory of Father St. George to the highest ranking senior French major.

  • 2016: Sarah Ramiré
  • 2015: Meaghan Landry
  • 2014: Caitlin Charette
  • 2013: Jaclyn Kotowski

Verrazzano Award (Italian)

A monetary award of $2,000 given by the Verrazzano Award Committee (known as the “Dr. Renato E. Leonelli Award”) to the student who has achieved excellence in the study of Italian.  In addition, a $1,000 grant (designated the “Dr. Renato E. Leonelli Resource Award”) is presented to Providence College by the Verrazzano Committee for the purchase of books pertaining to Italian language and culture.

  • 2013: Karine Alexana Montinola

Lida B. Aronne-Amestoy Award (Spanish)

Lida Aronne-Amestoy was born in Argentina and was a professor of English and Spanish-American Literature there until emigrating to the United States with her husband and two children in 1980. She earned a Ph.D. in Spanish-American literature from the University of Connecticut and joined the faculty at Providence College in 1982. She was promoted to the rank of Professor in 1988. 

 Lida was an internationally recognized literary critic, scholar, and poet. At Providence College, she was a vital member of the college community until her death on December 26, 1998. The Lida B. Aronne-Amestoy Award is an expression of the love and esteem that Lida's friends, colleagues and students at Providence College will always have for her.

  • 2016: Jessica Rodriguez  |Grace Twardy
  • 2015: Bryan McNamara
  • 2014: Jennifer Giffels
  • 2013: Anne Ruelle​

Fulbright Grant Recipients

  • 2016:  Kelley Garland | Abbey Guerino