Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linksawards


​​​The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry presents a number of awards to chemistry students each year. Among these awards are:

  • Highest Cumulative Four-Year Average in Concentration subjects in a chemistry program
  • Father Hickey Science Award for individual and academic excellence in chemistry
  • American Institute of Chemists Awards for outstanding scholastic achievement in chemistry, leadership, and character
  • American Chemical Society (ACS), Rhode Island Section Award for outstanding achievement by a junior or a senior chemistry maj​or
  • Nomination of senior chemistry majors to the Chemical Honor Society, Phi Lambda Upsilon, for excellence in chemistry
  • American Chemical Society (ACS), Division of Inorganic Chemistry Award to recognize achievement by an undergraduate in inorganic chemistry
  • American Chemical Society (ACS), Division of Analytical Chemistry Award to an undergraduate displaying an aptitude for a career in the field of analytical chemistry
  • J. Joseph Hanley Award for outstanding achievement by a chemistry major in introductory organic chemistry
  • American Chemical Society (ACS), Division of Polymer Sciences Award to a sophomore chemistry major for achievement in introductory organic chemistry
  • CRC Press Award for outstanding achievement by a student in freshman chemistry

 2016 Chemistry & Biochemistry Awards

  • ​​​​B.S. Biochemistry GPA -- ​Shelby Scola ’16
  • B.S. Chemistry GPA -- Christopher Baryiames ’16
  • Father Hickey Science Award -- Shelby Scola ’16
  • ACS Award -- Aidan Preston ’16
  • AIC Award
    Chemistry major: Christopher Baryiames ’16
    Biochemistry major: Satyam Khanal ’16
  • ACS Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry --Christopher Baryiames ’16
  • ACS Achievement in Ino​rganic Chemistry -- Satyam Khanal ’16 
  • Phi Lambda Upsilon
    1) Christopher Baryiames  2) Satyam Khanal  3) Aidan Preston  4) Shelby Scola
  • ACS Analytical Award -- Michael Gilmor ’17
  • Dr. J. Joseph Hanley Award -- Bianca Saliba ’18
  • CRC Freshman Award -- ​Amy Conte ’19
  • Teaching Assistant Awards
    ​1) Patrick Tate ’17 2) Gabrielle Barbera ’16  ​