Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linkscommittees

Provost Appointed

Presidentially Appointed



Committee Members
To oversee and coordinate the establishment of a Common Reading Program (CRP). Institute program in support of program objectives:
  • To strengthen the academic community and create opportunities for intellectual engagement and depth in learning through carefully selected common readings that pose multiple or differing perspectives and questions, followed by theme-oriented academic and co-curricular activities throughout the year;
  • To establish an intellectually stimulating environment that is both informal and structured, setting a tone for intellectual engagement among our new students;
  • To create a more academic focus to New Student Orientation; and
  • To provide opportunities for an enhanced Academic Convocation that includes meaningful ways for the entire college community, including students, faculty, and staff, to participate in the program.

This committee will be responsible for ensuring the rollout of the program, and for its overall coordination. The Steering Committee also is charged with evaluating the program, and with recommending an administrative structure and considering designated individuals or offices with primary responsibility for the program in future years. Further, the committee should explore potential internal and external funding possibilities to ensure sustained and continued growth of the program.​​

Provost Appointed

Charles Haberle, Academic Affairs (Chair)
Laura Arango, '20
Eliane Boucher, Psychology
Grace Cleary, ​Center for International Studies
Tiffany Gaffney, Assoc VP Stdnt Affairs/Dean of Stdt
Amy Goggin, ​Marketing & Communications
Sharon Hay, SAIL
Wanda Ingram, Undergraduate and Graduate Dean's Office
Catherine Latz, Institutional Advancement
Melissa Lemoi, College Events 
Olivia Lo, '18
Alyssa Marton, Academic Affairs
Margaret Reid, ​English
Janice Schuster, Library
Amanda Talbot, ​College Events
William Toner, Academic Services
Rafael Zapata, Institutional Diversity​​​​